Skip to main content
Guides

Best AI Headshot Generators in 2026: Bulk Services vs a One-Off Editor

Four dedicated headshot services and one general image editor, compared on the only things a buyer can verify: price, number of images, stated delivery time, and what happens when the result misses.

Published October 21, 202610 min read
Professional AI headshot of a person in a blazer against a neutral studio background
Portraits

Try this workflow right here

The same generator is embedded below. Start from a working prompt, swap in your own photo, and see the result before you leave this guide.

Open the full tool
Loading the workspace…

Two different products are sold under the same search term

Search for an AI headshot generator and you will land on two products that look similar in a gallery and behave nothing alike in checkout. The first is a dedicated headshot service: you upload a set of selfies, the company trains or conditions a model on your face, and it returns a batch of 30 to 100 portraits on a studio background. The second is a general AI image editor with a headshot workflow: you bring one photo, describe the backdrop and lighting, and generate or edit a portrait yourself.

The difference matters because the pricing models are opposite. A dedicated service sells a shoot, usually once, and its price includes a fixed number of images and a delivery window. A general editor sells credits or a subscription, and the cost depends on how many images you actually make. Neither model is better in the abstract. The right choice depends on whether you need a batch for a team page or one good portrait for a profile.

This comparison covers four dedicated services and NTE AI's headshot workflow. Every price and delivery claim below was read from the provider's own pricing page on 21 October 2026, and the source links are listed at the end. We did not buy any of the competitor packages, so the comparison reports what each company states rather than a tested output.

The comparison at a glance

The table normalises what each provider publishes. Entry price is the cheapest one-time individual package we could find on the page, not a subscription or a team quote. Images included is the number stated for that package. Delivery is the provider's own estimate, not a benchmark we ran. The last column records the limitation a buyer is most likely to hit after paying.

AI headshot pricing and package comparison, checked 21 October 2026
ProviderEntry priceImages includedStated deliveryMain limitation
HeadshotPro$29 Basic30 headshotsAbout 2 hoursThe cheapest tier is the slowest; 4K is only on the $59 Executive package
Aragon$35 Basic40 headshots45 minutesOne attire and one background on the entry tier
InstaHeadshots$5950 headshots, 5 looks15 minutesNo cheaper entry package listed on the pricing page
BetterPic$35Not stated on the pricing pageNot statedEdits are $8 each and a redo is $10
NTE AI (headshot tool)$9.99/month annual, 500 creditsNo fixed batch; 5 credits per 1K imageOn demandYou direct each image; there is no trained personal model or bulk delivery

Prices on these pages change with promotions. The numbers above are a snapshot from 21 October 2026, and the provider's own checkout is the only price that counts.

HeadshotPro: the broadest package ladder

HeadshotPro publishes three individual tiers. Basic is $29 for 30 headshots in about two hours with six photo credits for edits. Professional is $39 for 50 headshots in about 30 minutes with 26 photo credits and a free redo within 14 days. Executive is $59 for 70 headshots in about 15 minutes with 46 photo credits and 4K resolution, plus portrait and landscape crops. The page also states a money-back promise if the result does not look like you, and team pricing from $19.50 per person for groups of 5 to 1,000.

The useful detail is the trade-off between price and speed. The $29 tier is not a crippled sample; it returns 30 images, which is more than most individuals need. What it does not include is the fast turnaround, the 4K file, or the free redo window. If your deadline is a conference bio next week, Basic is enough. If a hiring manager needs the photo today, the $10 step to Professional buys time rather than more pictures.

The limitation is that everything is a batch. You choose from what the model returns, and the page's redo policy exists because a batch can miss. That is a reasonable design for a company shoot and a poor fit for someone who wants to iterate on one frame with a specific backdrop.

Aragon: attire and background choices at each tier

Aragon's pricing page is organised around how much control you get, not only how many images. Basic is listed at $35 for 40 headshots in 45 minutes with one attire choice and one background. Premium is $45 for 60 headshots in 30 minutes with two attires and two backgrounds; the page says 83% of buyers pick this tier. Executive is $75 for 100 headshots in 15 minutes with all attires and all backgrounds included. The same page showed $44, $56 and $94 struck through beside those prices when we checked, so treat the lower number as promotional.

The tier structure is honest about what most people actually need. A single background is fine for a LinkedIn profile and weak for a team page that mixes portraits taken in different offices. Two attires lets you produce a formal and a casual version from one upload, which is the most common real requirement. The Executive tier is for agencies or teams that want a library from one shoot.

Aragon also publishes a headshot cost calculator and compares its price with a traditional studio session, which its page puts at about $250 for an hour. That is a fair comparison for the batch model. It is not a fair comparison for a single portrait, where the relevant alternative is a general editor and a few minutes of work.

InstaHeadshots and BetterPic: speed and edits

InstaHeadshots lists a single entry package on its pricing page: $59 for 50 headshots in five looks, ready in 15 minutes. The pitch is speed and variety rather than a cheap entry point. Fifty images across five looks is a different product from fifty variations of one look, and it suits someone who needs options for a personal site, a speaker page and a social profile at the same time.

BetterPic competes on resolution and aftercare. Its page advertises 4K headshots starting from $35, unlimited edit requests at $8 each, and a $10 redo that generates a new set from the existing upload. The $8 edit is worth reading carefully: it is cheaper than a new shoot and more expensive than simply generating another image in a general editor. If you expect to need three or four rounds of clothing or background fixes, those add up.

Neither page states a free trial in the sections we read, and BetterPic's pricing page did not state a fixed image count for the entry package. That is not a criticism; it is a reason to open the checkout before comparing. A package with an unstated count is harder to compare per image than one that says 40.

NTE AI: a headshot workflow, not a batch service

NTE AI is a general AI image editor with a dedicated headshot tool. You upload one photo, choose a backdrop and lighting direction, and generate or edit the portrait. The pricing page lists 500 credits for $9.99 per month on annual billing, 2,000 credits for $29.99, and 8,000 credits for $99.99. A 1K image generation costs 5 credits and a 2K image edit costs 10, so the entry plan covers roughly 100 one-kilopixel images a month before any edits.

That economics is completely different from a $29 batch. At the entry plan, a single 1K headshot costs about ten cents in credits. The catch is that you are buying a workflow, not a guaranteed likeness. You have to prompt for the backdrop, check the face, and regenerate when the expression or the hairline drifts. The paid plans include a commercial-use license and a business certificate, which matters if the portrait will appear on a company site.

The headshot tool is the right choice when you need one portrait, you already have a photo you like, and you want to control the background instead of accepting a preset. It is the wrong choice when you need 50 consistent portraits of 20 employees by Friday. For that job, a dedicated service with a batch, a fixed count and a redo policy is cheaper in time even when it is more expensive per image.

Who should choose which

The decision is mostly about batch size and deadline. Use the list below as a starting point, then check the provider's current page because promotional prices move.

  • One portrait for LinkedIn or a personal site, with a background you want to control: a general editor such as NTE AI, paid per image.
  • 30 to 70 portraits from one upload, delivered within a day: HeadshotPro Basic or Professional.
  • A formal and a casual look from the same upload: Aragon Premium, which includes two attires and two backgrounds.
  • Fifty images across five distinct looks in 15 minutes: InstaHeadshots.
  • 4K files and paid per-edit fixes after delivery: BetterPic, budget for the $8 edits.
  • A team page with 20 or more people: a team plan from a dedicated service, not a consumer credit pack.

How to judge the output before you pay

Three checks separate a usable headshot from a convincing demo. First, the eyes: the catchlights should match the stated light direction, and both pupils should point the same way. Second, the hairline and ears: batch models sometimes rebuild the edge of the face and leave a soft or duplicated ear. Third, the clothing: lapels, collars and buttons are where image models most often invent geometry. Zoom to 100% before you upload the result anywhere.

The second check is fitness for the place it will appear. LinkedIn displays a profile photo at roughly 400 by 400 pixels, so a 1K image is plenty and a 4K file is mostly useful for print or a large speaker card. A company team page usually shows portraits at 300 to 600 pixels wide, which makes consistent lighting and background more important than resolution.

The third check is honesty. An AI headshot should represent you, not a younger or more polished person who does not exist. If a provider's output changes your face shape or age, regenerate or ask for a redo. A portrait that gets you a meeting under false pretences is worse than no portrait.

Sources and what we did not verify

Every competitor figure in this guide comes from the provider's public pricing page, read on 21 October 2026: HeadshotPro, Aragon, InstaHeadshots and BetterPic. NTE AI's credit costs come from its own pricing page on the same date. We did not create accounts, buy packages or run generations on the competitor services, so we cannot confirm output quality, likeness accuracy or actual delivery time. The delivery times in the table are the providers' own estimates.

We also did not verify whether each provider offers a free trial, because several pages change the offer by campaign and the checkout is the only reliable source. Where a page did not state an image count or a free option, this guide says so rather than filling the gap with a guess. Prices are shown in US dollars as published; local tax and currency conversion are added at checkout.

Questions

How much do AI headshot generators cost in 2026?

Dedicated batch services we checked list entry packages from $29 to $59 for 30 to 50 images. BetterPic starts at $35 and charges $8 per edit request. A general editor such as NTE AI sells credits instead: 500 credits for $9.99 per month on annual billing, with a 1K image costing 5 credits.

How long does an AI headshot take?

The providers' own estimates range from 15 minutes to about two hours for a batch. InstaHeadshots states 15 minutes, HeadshotPro states about two hours on its $29 tier and about 15 minutes on its $59 tier. A single-image editor generates in seconds to a few minutes, depending on the queue.

Are AI headshots allowed on LinkedIn?

LinkedIn's user agreement requires an authentic representation of you. An AI-generated headshot is generally acceptable when it accurately depicts you and does not impersonate someone else or invent credentials. Check the current LinkedIn terms and your employer's policy before using one on a company page.

Can I make a headshot from one selfie?

A general editor can work from one clear, front-facing photo, which is the workflow NTE AI's headshot tool is built around. Dedicated batch services usually ask for a set of selfies so they can condition a model on several angles; the exact number is stated during their upload flow, not always on the pricing page.

What resolution do I need for a headshot?

LinkedIn displays a profile photo at roughly 400 by 400 pixels, and most team pages show portraits at 300 to 600 pixels wide. A 1K image is enough for those uses. Choose a 4K package only when you need print, a large conference card, or heavy cropping.

What happens if the headshot does not look like me?

Policies differ. HeadshotPro advertises a money-back promise and a free redo on its Professional tier within 14 days. BetterPic charges $10 for a redo. A general editor does not guarantee likeness at all; you regenerate with a clearer source photo or a tighter prompt that asks the model to preserve facial identity.

Can I use an AI headshot commercially?

It depends on the provider's licence, not on the fact that the image is AI-generated. NTE AI's paid plans state that they include a commercial-use licence and a business certificate. Dedicated services publish their own terms, so read the licence before putting a portrait on a company site, an ad or a product page.

Is a dedicated headshot service better than a general AI editor?

For a batch of 30 or more portraits with a fixed deadline, a dedicated service is usually the better tool because it includes a set number of images and a redo policy. For one portrait where you want to choose the backdrop and iterate, a general editor is cheaper and more controllable. The mistake is buying a 50-image package for a single profile photo.

Do these prices include taxes?

No. The prices published on the provider pages are in US dollars before local tax and before any currency conversion your card issuer applies. The checkout total is the number to compare, especially for buyers in the EU or the UK.